James F. Leckman, MD, PhD

Title: 1) Attending Physician 2) Neison Harris Professor of Child Psychiatry

Company: 1) Yale New Haven Health 2) Yale University

Location: Hamden, CT United States


  • Inductee, Worldwide Lifetime Achievement (2018)
  • Grantee, National Institute of Mental Health, NIH (1985-Present)
  • Grantee, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, NIH (2011-Present)
  • Recipient, Lifetime Achievement Award, European Conference on Tourette Syndrome and Tic Disorders, European Society for the Study of Tourette Syndrome (2016)
  • Recipient, Tourettes Action Lifetime Achievement Award for Research and Contributions to Patient Groups, European Conference on Tourette Syndrome and Tic Disorders (2016)
  • Distinguished Life Fellow, American Psychiatric Association (2016)
  • Honoree, America’s Top Doctors (2003-2016)
  • Recipient, Agnes Purcell McGavin Award for a Distinguished Career Achievement in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, American Psychiatric Association (2015)
  • Leading Tourette’s Syndrome Expert, BiomedExperts (2011-2014)
  • Grantee, Grifols, Inc. (2011-2014)
  • Grantee, United States-Israel Binational Science Foundation (2006-2014)
  • Grantee, National Institute of Neurological Disease and Stroke (2001-2012)
  • Grantee, Tourette Syndrome Association (2007-2011)
  • Recipient, Research Mentorship Award, American Psychiatric Association and the American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry (2009)
  • Recipient, Raune Prize, National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Affective Disorders (2007)
  • Grantee, National Center for Research Resources (2002-2007)
  • Grantee, Yale School of Medicine, Yale University (2004-2006)
  • Grantee, Institute for Research on Unlimited Love (2002-2006)
  • Recipient, Outstanding Mentor Award, American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (1990, 1992, 1995, 2001, 2005)
  • Recipient, Distinguished Alumni Award, The College of Wooster (2001)
  • Visiting Fellow, Wolfson College (1998)
  • Recipient, Leroy Hoeck Award, Children’s National Medical Center (1996)
  • Honoree, Best Doctors in America (1996)
  • Recipient, Blanche E. Ittleson Award for Research in Child Psychiatry, American Psychiatric Association (1995)
  • Recipient, Established Investigator Award, National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Affective Disorders (1993)
  • Fellow, American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (1991)
  • Fellow, American Psychiatric Association (1988)
  • Fellow, American Academy of Child Adolescent Psychiatry (1988)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow in Child Psychiatry, Child Study Center, Yale School of Medicine, Yale University (1980-1983)
  • Research Scholar, The William T. Grant Foundation (1980-1983)
  • Merck Faculty Scholar, The John Merck Fund (1982 1991)
  • H.P. Laughlin Fellow, American College of Psychiatrists (1981)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Psychiatry, Yale School of Medicine, Yale University (1976-1979)
  • Recipient, Seymour L. Lustman Research Award, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University (1978-1979)
  • USPHS AAMC Fellow, RAMBAM Hospital, University of New Mexico (1972)
  • Featured Listee, Who’s Who in America, Marquis Who’s Who (2006-2008)
  • Featured Listee, Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Marquis Who’s Who (2006-2007, 2009-2010)
  • Featured Listee, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering, Marquis Who’s Who (1994-1995)


  • Doctor of Philosophy, Universidade de São Paulo
  • Doctor of Medicine, School of Medicine, The University of New Mexico
  • Bachelor of Arts, The College of Wooster

Contact James F. Leckman, MD, PhD:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.